Subscribe to get the latest articles first.
Scroll To Top
  1. Home →
  2. basketball →
  3. Who Will Win The WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest?

Who Will Win The WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest?

ByQueen Ballers Club| July 13, 2023If you buy something from a link on our site, Queen Ballers Club may earn a commission.

Another can’t-miss event happening this weekend is the 2023 WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest. And with four-time winner Allie Quigley out of the running, it’ll be fun to see who takes the title! This year, Las Vegas Aces guard Jackie Young, who leads the WNBA in three-point field goal percentage this season (48.5 percent), and New York Liberty guard Sabrina Ionescu, who ranks second in three-pointers made (54), headline the list of six players who will show off the league’s talent from beyond the arc.

To watch just tune in to ESPN at 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET on Friday, July 14, or attend during that time in person at Michelob Ultra Arena in Las Vegas. You can also catch WNBA All-Star Skills Challenge at the same time. Plus find out below how you can try to win $33,333 if you attend!

WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest Players

In addition to Jackie and Sabrina, DiJonai Carrington (Connecticut Sun), Kelsey Mitchell (Indiana Fever), Arike Ogunbowale (Dallas Wings) and Sami Whitcomb (Seattle Storm) will compete. This will be Kelsey, Arike and Sami’s second three-point contests giving them a bit of an advantage. However none have ever won before as Allie Quigley – who’s not playing in the WNBA this year – took the title each time. Here’s a look at each player’s three-point shooting results so far this year:

Sabrina and Arike are also participating in the skills challenge, which could help them warm up and settle in a bit. We think it likely Sabrina or Jackie takes this one. But we can’t wait to see the results!

Starry 3 point shooting contest for wnba all star

How the WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest Works

Six players compete in the two-round, timed shooting competition. Basically there are 5 balls to be shot at 5 stations around the arc – with one station being full of extra valuable balls (2 points) – and two deeper single shots worth the most points (3). Each competitor has just 70 seconds to score as many of the 27 balls as they can. 

 WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest floor map

Here’s how it breaks down:

WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest Rules

Players have to finish all the ball racks and pedestals in order before moving on to the next shooting location. Players may not start on or over the three-point line while shooting. For the two additional deep shots, the player must begin their shooting motion with at least one foot in the “The Starry Range” designated by a floor decal. 

First round: The WNBA sets the order of competition, and the three players with the highest scores advance to the Final Round. If there’s a tie, they’ll do a 30-second tiebreaker using the same competition format until they’ve got a winner.

Final round: Only three players will advance to the Final Round. The player with the lowest score in the First Round among the players who advanced shoots first in the Final Round. A full 70-second (1:10) tiebreaker will take place if necessary.

Watch The WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest

If you’re watching in person, you can also check out the Shoot Your Shot Competition on the STARRY Court from Friday, July 14 at 12 p.m. PT through Saturday, July 15 at 8 p.m. PT at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center, where you can participate in a variety of events, including testing your own 3-point shooting skills for a chance to win prize money. On Friday and again on Saturday, the fan who makes the most 3-point shots in 60 seconds will win $33,333. In addition, at the STARRY Style Lounge, you can view WNBA All-Star A’ja Wilson’s footwear style and participate in games to win custom merchandise, take photos at a branded photo booth and sample STARRY products. Learn more about WNBA All-Star here.

Who Won The WNBA All-Star Three Point Contest? Results

Sabrina Ionescu won the 2023 WNBA Three-Point Contest with a record-setting score of 37 points, after missing just two shots in the final round.

1. Sabrina Ionescu, New York Liberty: 26, 37

2. Sami Whitcomb, Seattle Storm: 28, 24

3. Arike Ogunbowale, Dallas Wings: 21, 15

4. DiJonai Carrington, Connecticut Sun: 18

Tied 5. Jackie Young, Las Vegas Aces: 15

Tied 5. Kelsey Mitchell, Indiana Fever: 15

FEATURED INDeadspinJust Women's SportsHer Hoop StatsThe Shadow LeagueUproxxNational Public RadioBaseline PodcastThe GistSB Nation Swish AppealThe Next HoopsTogethxrYahoo
© 2024 Queen Ballers Club